Lydia Hopper, Race Chair #IAmKomenAustin

By: Lydia Hopper

The 2016 Race for the Cure is in full swing right now!  Everyone I talk to is excited about Race this year.  Teams are being created, companies are working on creating some fun competitions for employees-everyone is ready to get started! (Register here)

This year is an exciting year again for Race. We are happy to announce that the Race will take place on September 25th this year!  This is great news because it will be the weekend prior to Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  What a great way to kick off a very important month!

RACE2015 477

Komen Austin Race Finish Line

Right now, our 14 committees that help make the Race a fun event for everyone are working hard to put things in motion. Registration has just opened up, and we are working to schedule some Registration Rallies all around the Austin area. Our entertainment committee is working on securing some great local DJ’s and bands to place around the course for entertainment. Merchandise is picking out some great items to have for sale at packet pick-up and on Race day so we can all show our support! Our sponsors are ready to jump in, and of course, the Survivor committee is planning to make this year another memorable year with our Survivor Celebration! So many terrific things are happening for Race, just too many to list!

Another change that we are REALLY excited about is moving our Survivor tent into our main lot! Now everyone will be able to enjoy all of the great festivities and music in our main lot. Again this year, we are not having a rolling start. Timed runners will begin at 7:15 a.m. Untimed joggers and walkers begin at 7:30 a.m., and the start line closes at 8:00 a.m. Make sure to arrive early to have time to be on the course before it closes!


There’s a lot of organization that goes into planning the race, and I’m learning there’s a lot of moving parts to putting on a great race. Right now, I’m focusing on the planning and execution of the race and developing and managing the committees that make the race run smoothly.

Lydia-Hopper

Lydia Hopper

I have great support from the Komen staff. Having been a volunteer for the past few years with Race also helps because I have previous year’s knowledge to bring to the table. I became involved with Komen Austin after a presentation from Komen representatives during a meeting at work.  After hearing what Komen Austin does for the community, and how breast cancer can touch so many lives both directly and indirectly, I decided to dedicate some time to volunteering at the office.  One thing led to another, and before I knew it, I was volunteering for anything and everything I could volunteer for. Race was the next big event. It seemed a perfect fit to honor those I love and those I have lost because of breast cancer.

Breast cancer has impacted the lives of women within my family and as a result, has impacted everyone in my family as a supporter for those that we love. 

I have had three family members that have been diagnosed with breast cancer.  My aunt had breast cancer, fought her battle and won the first time.  After being cancer-free for years, she found out the breast cancer had returned. During her second time fighting breast cancer, one of her three daughters was also diagnosed with breast cancer.  Though they both bravely fought the breast cancer, they both lost their battles within the same year.  More recently, my sister-in-law was also diagnosed with breast cancer and now is a two-year survivor and continues to be a fighter!

I have met so many wonderful people that have been affected by breast cancer and each have their own story, I do this for them all! 

Knowing I help an organization like Komen Austin provide education, support and life saving services is what keeps me volunteering in any way I can.

Leave a Reply

